SIOPSA on Facebook SIOPSA on Twitter SIOPSA on LinkedIn SIOPSA on YouTube Chat Room

Society for Industrial & Organisational Psychology of SA



Our Mission

The Society's mission is to help develop a fair and humane work environment, enabling people to reach their full potential and experience a high quality of work life in South Africa. To this end, the Society strives to create conditions in which Industrial and Organisational Psychologists will be able to deliver efficient and effective services to the benefit of all in South Africa.

Our Objectives


Full Constitution

Legal Status

The Society is one not for gain, acting in its own right in legal proceedings, with the power to acquire, use and dispose of property, to acquire and control funds, to make payments in the form of salaries, honoraria, awards and donations, and to perform all such acts as are consistent with its objectives and are derived from the promotion thereof. The Society exists in all respects as a legal persona in its own right.


The Executive Committee

The Executive Committee is highest authority of the Society and promotes the interests of Industrial and Organisational Psychology as a science and profession in accordance with the objectives of the Society. It has the right to conduct all business whatsoever of the Society, subject to the direction of members at properly constituted General Meetings.

The Executive Committee shall meet not less than four times in any year.

The SIOPSA Executive Committee for 2017/2018:


Shirleen Titus President
Manoko Ratala Past President
Vacant President Elect
Danie Oosthuizen Interim Treasurer
Alison Felix Secretary
Liziwe Masoga Transformation


Madele Nelson Membership Growth and Services
Karien Van der Merwe Marketing and Communications
Crystal Hoole Professional Practice
Andrew Johnson External Affairs
Georgia Stylianou SIOPSA Foundation
Pumla Hako SIOPSA Academy
Natasha Winkler-Titus Conference



Francois de Wet Branch Chair: Pretoria
Nompumelelo Shezi Branch Chair: Johannesburg
Jaco De Coning Branch Chair: Gauteng Vaal
Holly Glaeser Branch Chair: Durban
Sharon Munyaka Branch Chair: Eastern Cape
Marissa de Klerk Branch Chair: North West
Adrian Parsadh Branch Chair: Cape Town


Zandile MjiyakoHead of Marketing, Communications and Events
Lungelo HlelaCustomer Care Administrator
Rentia De BruynFinancial Controller


Frans Cilliers Chair: Interest Group in the Systems Psychodynamics of Organisations (IGSPO)
Vacant Chair: International Association of Cross-Cultural Psychology (IACCP)
David Bischof Chair: Interest Group People Assessment in Industry (PAI)
Gail Wrogemann Chair: Interest Group Coaching & Consulting Psychology (IGCCPSA)
Thenjiwe Msomi Chair: Interest Group for Psychometry Professionals (new)
Vacant Chair: Interest group for Positive Organisational Psychology (IGPOP)
Dirk Geldenhuys Chair: Interest Group for Applied Neuroscience (IGANS)
Barbara Donaldson Chair: Psycho-Legal Interest Group
Lloyd Hlengani Chair: Interest Group for Transformation

Fellow and Honorary Members


Fellows are full members who have made an outstanding contribution to the science, practice or organisation of Industrial or Organisational Psychology.

Fellows of SIOPSA are:

Honorary Members

The Executive Committee may invite persons to become honorary life members of the Society. Such persons have distinguished themselves by meritorious achievement or service in the sphere of Industrial or Organisational Psychology as a science and / or profession.

Honorary members of SIOPSA are:


Regional Committees

Regional Committees Navigator

Annual Report


Annual General Meeting

The SIOPSA AGM will take place in July next year during the SIOPSA Annual Conference. More information will be provided closer to the time.

Past Minutes and Presentations


Vision 1


The essence of our scope of practice maintains that IO Psychologists apply the principles of psychology to issues related to the work situation thereby optimising individual, group and organisational well-being and effectiveness. As such, we are able to address the needs of business and people simultaneously and we therefore have an invaluable contribution to make in developing business and policy at the highest level. IO psychologists are thus established as thought leaders, offering expert comment and input on people issues in the workplace. The Society poses as a custodian of expertise, and an organisation that can direct the media, government or industry towards the right answers.

Key activities

Vision 2


SIOPSA strives to offer the industry, our communities and the country what it needs from a professional association. The Society must be relevant and add value to the careers of its members, to the extent that individuals feel the urge to join and not run the risk of “being left behind”. SIOPSA actively pursues strong and deep relationships with the community where its members work, as well as with academia, all to solidify the future of the profession.

Key activities

Vision 3


While SIOPSA is keenly aware of the statutory role of the HPCSA in educating the profession and protecting the public, IO Psychologists work in an environment which is unique within the broader psychology profession.  The beneficiaries of our profession are not patients, but working adults, teams and organizations. We use the science of psychology to understand and work with behaviour that makes individuals and organizations more effective.  Although part of psychology, much of what we do falls outside the ambit of clinical-medical model of ethics and practice, which applies to our colleagues in the broader-scoped psychology profession. There are a number of areas requiring specific attention. SIOPSA features as the custodian of what makes IO Psychology part of the broader psychology profession. Importantly, it positions itself as the custodian for those areas of ethics, science and practice which are unique to our profession. We should continue to inform, influence and possibly control the statutory environment that defines the legal framework for the profession.

Key activities

Vision 4


Rather than a purely volunteer-based model, SIOPSA needs an effectively structured office and staff complement to conduct its operations in line with a business model. This will afford credibility to the organisation as a mainstream role player. It will also allow for more time to be dedicated to the pursuit of our objectives and championing the IO Psychology field, through the efforts of individuals whose daily duties are dedicated to that purpose.

Key activities
Chat Room
Events Calendar
01 Aug 2017
eCPD Package 2017 2018


23 Feb 2018
Internship Information Session
SIOPSA Eastern Cape Regional Branch invites you to an opportunity to LEARN and NETWORK with fellow Professionals at our next exciting event... Internship Information Session with Dr Sharon Mun...


View More Events