SIOPSA Presidency | SIOPSA

SIOPSA Presidency

SIOPSA Past and Current Presidency

The SIOPSA Presidency consists of the President, President-Elect and Past President

The Role of the President is to take accountability for the strategic leadership of the society and to coordinate with the Executive Committee the implementation of the mandate given by our members at the Annual General Meeting. Furthermore, the president should actively engage with all stakeholders of the society to ensure continuous improvement and sustainability as well as the associated availability of resources.

The Role of the President-Elect is to ensure that all communication processes are conducted with the aim of understanding the society, its members and office administration in the context of the presidency. Furthermore, the role is to support the performance of each Executive Committee through planned feedback conversations.

The Role of Past President is to ensure continuity and completion of the important strategic focus areas either taken over or started during their presidency. The past president offers ongoing guidance and knowledge transfer to the incoming president and administration office as required or alternatively planned. The Past-President is also responsible for heading external affairs for the Society. They act as an ambassador for the profession of IOP by establishing SIOPSA as the leading professional body on people matters in the workplace, establish positive, mutually beneficial relationships with key stakeholders and create sustainable partnerships with industries & business communities to forge symbiotic relationships of mutual benefit

The Role of the Elders is to act as an advisory body and to share their insights of the profession, their institutional memory and the stories that will serve to the benefit of Exco and the SIOPSA members.

President – Dr Natasha Winkler-Titus

Natasha Winkler-Titus is an Industrial and Organizational Psychologist who completed her MCOM in Human Resource Management at UP in 2001. Following on a career in Management consulting where she held senior management roles with Rio Tinto, KPMG, Arthur Anderson, Natasha now consults independently and some of her clients include BHP Billiton, Anglo American Platinum, Transnet and SANBS to name but a few. She completed her Ph.D. during 2015 – 2019, where her research broadly focused on understanding the process of unplanned change in organizations. Explaining how the socio political context and external power dynamics forces change on organisations.  Professionally, she helps organizational teams in unlocking their full potential and effectiveness, by utilizing best practice research, science, and practical solutions.  Outside of her professional and academic life, she loves travelling, enjoys reading fiction, and runs the occasional half marathon and spending time with her family and friends.  Natasha gives back some of her 22 years of experience by serving on the executive of the society for I/O psychologists in SA, supervising Interns, teaching and researching in OD and Change,  as well as campaigning sponsorship toward a feeding scheme for a local school in her community in Richards Bay.

President Elect – Prof crystal hoole

Prof Hoole is a long-standing member and has served the society in Professional practice. She is also the Head of Industrial Psychology  at the University of Johannesburg and the Editor in Chief of the SA Journal of Industrial Psychology.

Past President – dr marissa brouwers

Marissa Brouwers (PhD) is the 2019/2020 SIOPSA President and Senior Lecturer of Work and Organisational Psychology at the North-West University in South Africa (PC). She is also the programme leader for Research at the School for Industrial Psychology and Human Resource Management. Academically she has completed a Doctorate degree in the field of Industrial Psychology, specialising in the work-family interface. Marissa also holds a Master of Arts, an Honours degree in Industrial Psychology, an BPsyc degree and a Bachelor’s degree in Psychology, which were obtained from the North-West University (all cum laude) at the top of her class. She is registered with the Health Professions Council of South Africa (HPCSA) as a psychologist (category: Industrial). Marissa is also registered as a member with the Society for Industrial and Organisational Psychology of South Africa (SIOPSA) and registered as a Charted HR professional – Generalist with the South African Board for People Practices (SABPP). She has been part of the SIOPSA North-West Regional Branch Committee for 5 years and served as Branch Chair for 3 years. Marissa has extensive experience within the tertiary education environment (as lecturer, researcher and community work). She has published articles (on topics such as work-family interface, conflict management and organisational culture) in various scientific journals and presented at various national and international accredited conferences. Marissa’s research interests lie within the work-family interface, flourishing, organisational well-being, toxic leadership and toxic work environments. She also has experience within private and public sectors as consultant. Marissa has a great passion for the profession and also specifically for developing students and emerging I/O Psychologists.

SIOPSA Past Presidents

Alison Felix-Lodewyk 2018 – 2019
Shirleen Titus – 2017 – 2018
Manoko Ratala – 2016 – 2017
Prof. Llewellyn van Zyl – 2015 – 2016
Kim Dowdeswell – 2014 – 2015
Andre Westraat – 2013 – 2014
Prof. Karel Stanz – 2012 – 2013
Dr Andrew Johnson – 2011 – 2012
Nadene Venter – 2010 – 2011
Prof. Anton Schlechter – 2009 – 2010
Stephen Renecle – 2008 – 2009
Fred Guest -2006 – 2008
Prof. Aletta Odendaal – 2005 -2006